Skip to Navigation

Newquay AFC Presentations 2012

NO-ONE can deny that this season has been the season where Newquay have really stepped up, and taken things to another level.

The Peppermints are celebrating one of their most successful seasons for years. The senior team were crowned SWPL Div 1W champions after a runaway season, and look forward to competing in the Premier Division next season.

Meanwhile the U-18s brought home the Rathbone Cup, and the U-16s were also crowned the Kernow League Premiership Cup champions.

Meanwhile, Newquay Ladies have once again brought home silverware in the form of the Cornwall County Cup, and the Ambassador League Cup after a 4-0 thrashing of Swindon Town away at Torquay.

Players, coaches, managers and the merry band of ’Newquay Loyal“ supporters gathered at The Sandy Lodge Hotel on Friday night to celebrate, and give recognition to those that have helped make this one the the club’s more successful seasons for years.

Mike Arscott was named both the SWPL Manager, and Player’s Player of the year, whilst the SWPL top goalscorer was Luke Weldhen, who has really shone through this season.

Another great performer was Lewis Hilton. Ahead of moving to America on a Soccer scholarship, he collected both the SWPL Supporter’s Player of the Year, and the Newquay AFC Young Player of the Year trophies.

Jack Bray-Evans was named both the Cornwall Combination League Supporters, and Player’s Player of the Year, whilst Sam Hill was named the Manager’s Player of the Year by boss Alan Yendall.

The reserve team’s Leading Goalscorer was Sam McKune.

Newquay Ladies boss Alan Metters was visibly very proud of his team, and took great pleaseure in awarding Annie Richards with the Manager’s Player of the Year award.

Meanwhile, Kayle Lane was named the Player’s Player, and the Most Improved Award went to Kirsty Lang.

The third team Managers Player of the Year was Josh Burt; Player’s Player of the Year wasBonar Maull and the Leading Goalscorer was George Starkey.

Meanwhile the fourth team recognised Tom Barnett as both the Player’s Player and Leading Goalscorer. David Menhenitt was named the Manager’s Player of the Year.

Chairman Pete Butterly was also presented with a special SWPL award, in recognition for his efforts helping to lead the club.

Galleries Football Football Matches and events during 2012 Newquay AFC Presentations 2012 Share Gallery Switch Views: Gallery View | Slideshow

306613625_0img_1175 306613625_0img_1177 306613625_0img_1178 306613625_0img_1179 306613625_0img_1180 306613625_0img_1182 306613625_0img_1183 306613625_0img_1185 306613625_0img_1186 306613625_0img_1187 306613625_0img_1188 306613625_0img_1189 306613625_0img_1191 306613625_0img_1194 306613625_0img_1195 306613625_0img_1196 306613625_0img_1202 306613625_0img_1203 306613625_0img_1204 306613625_0img_1205 306613625_0img_1207 306613625_0img_1209 306613625_0img_1211 306613625_0img_1212

Top of Page


We use a small number of cookies on our site to enable functionality including Google Analytics. By continuing use of our website you consent to their use.

No cookies contain any personal information and are neccesary for the use of our site.

See our Privacy Policy for more information.